OECI – At the top of European Oncology


In 2015, the IOV was accredited by the Organization of European Cancer Institutes (OECI) – the network that groups the most important centers of research and treatment of tumors on the continent – and earned the designation of “Comprehensive Cancer Center”.

This is the highest award given by OECI: the IOV has demonstrated that it meets the stringent requirements of care and assistance, scientific research and innovation, prevention and academic training.

Accreditation is valid for five years and the IOV is committed to the maintenance and improvement of the quality levels already achieved: an additional guarantee for patients and their families, who entrust their cancer care to a center of excellence whose primary reference is the centrality of the patient, the one guiding criterion of OECI standards. In 2016, at the milestone mark to maintain accreditation, OECI approved the results of the improvement actions undertaken by the IOV on requirements that were only partially met.

The OECI auditors visiting the IOV highlighted among the strengths of the Institute:

  • the aptitude to take a multidisciplinary approach to disease, enriched by the fruitful collaboration with the University of Padua;
  • the continuity of the care offered to the patient;
  • the leadership role of the IOV as the coordinating center of the Veneto Oncology Network (ROV) and within national and international networks;
  • the high level of basic, clinical and translational research and its integration into clinical care;
  • the exceptional scientific productivity of researchers in relation to the size of the Institute.

OECI Certificate

ISO 9001-2015

The IOV is certified ISO 9001-2015 Quality Management System (exclusively for the Padua and Schiavonia venues).

All procedures related to production, control and management support processes are subject to internal verification by the Accreditation and IRCCS Recognition Office and external verification by the ISO certification body inspectors.

All the results of the evaluation and revision of process management and improvement project development are subject to annual review by the General Management.

ISO 9001-2015 certificate 2020

ESMO – People, even before cancer patients


IOV is accredited as a “Designated Centre of Integrated Oncology & Palliative Care” by the European Society of Medical Oncology (ESMO). In 2018, the ESMO certification was renewed until 2021.

The basis of the ESMO certification is the belief that a patient is – and should feel like – the same person as before they became ill. It is for this reason that a project of global patient care is built around each patient, aimed at seeking the best quality of life for the patient and his/her loved ones. The latter is a very subjective concept because it involves physical, spiritual, psychological and social needs. To ensure a good quality of life, the IOV has established simultaneous care pathways that, in addition to the oncologist, involve palliative doctors, nutritionists and psycho-oncologists in a multidimensional and multidisciplinary approach.

Moreover, the information center of the Italian Association of Cancer Patients (AIMAC), the Osteo-oncology clinic, hospital-territory coordination protocols and, above all, the electronic medical record, which allows attending physicians to quickly share information on the patient, are available in the Institute.

ESMO certificate (2018 issue)

ONDA – A woman-friendly hospital

Again in 2019, the IOV received for the fifth consecutive time three pink stamps, the highest recognition of a woman friendly hospital, from the National Observatory on Women’s Health (ONDa). ONDa monitors and rewards Italian hospitals that offer services dedicated to the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of the main female diseases and that pay particular attention to the specific needs of women (www.bollinirosa.it).

In this context, the IOV stands out in the national panorama for the attention paid to clinical-scientific research and the presence of clinical specialties dedicated to the main medical conditions that affect women; for the appropriateness of the diagnostic-therapeutic pathways, intended as a guarantee of a clinical approach to the specific pathology in relation to the needs and psycho-physical characteristics of the woman; for patient reception services and the protection of a woman’s dignity. The three stamps are valid for 2020 and 2021.